News > Events > 2018 British Hairdressing Awards Winners Announced
Last updated: November 28, 2018

2018 British Hairdressing Awards Winners Announced

close formula
Instagram via @hookerandyoung

THIS JUST IN. Great Britain’s top hairdressers and talent were celebrated at the annual 2018 British Hairdressing Awards, sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional and hosted by Hairdressers Journal International—and we’re sharing the winning collections! From regional entries to specialist collections, hairdressers were recognized in 16 different categories including the prestigious British Hairdresser of the Year.


British-favorite TV personality Rylan Clark-Neal hosted the evening at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel, where guests were welcomed and danced along with musical entertainment from noughties rock band Scouting For Girls. For the second year, Schwarzkopf Professional inspired the audience by showcasing their Young Artistic Team collection, art directed by session stylist Tyler Johnston (@tylerjohnstonhair)


Finalists are judged twice by a panel consisting of hairdressing legends, leading national beauty press and past winners of the awards who have since joined the British Hairdressing Awards Hall of Fame, an accolade presented to those who win the same category on more than three occasions. 


See the winners below, and click the “C” icon to view winning collections!



British Hairdresser of the Year

Sally Brooks (@sallybrookshair), Brooks & Brooks, London


Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year

Robert Eaton, (@robertjeaton), Russell Eaton, Leeds


Artistic Team of the Year

Marc Antoni Art Team (@marcantonihair), Marc Antoni


Newcomer of the Year

Gialuca Caruso (@gianlu_caruso), Toni & Guy North Audley Street, London


Afro Hairdresser of the Year

Michelle Thompson (@michellethompsonhair), Francesco Group Birmingham


Men’s Hairdresser of the Year

Desmond Murray (@desmondmurray), Atherton Cox


Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year

Sylvestre Finold (@sylvestre_finold), Toni & Guy Wimbledon



London Hairdresser of the Year

Philipp Haug (@philipp_haug), Toni & Guy Sloane Square



Eastern Hairdresser of the Year

Mary Geoghegan & Jessica Neil (@khhair_nottingham), KH Hair



Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year

Steven Smart (@smartest73), Smartest 73



Southern Hairdresser of the Year

Robert Masciave (@robertmasciave), Metropolis Hairdressing



North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year

Isobel Eaton & Jesse Jackson (@russelleatonhair), Russell Eaton, Barnsley



Scottish Hairdresser of the Year

Karen Thomson (@karenthomsonkam), KAM Hair & Body Spa



Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year

Damien Johnston (@damienjohnston_ph), Pure Hair



North Western Hairdresser of the Year

Marcello Moccia & Karen Perry (@room97creative), Room97 Creative



Midlands Hairdresser of the Year

Nicola Smyth (@nicolasmythhair), Nicola Smyth Award Winning Hair