Collections > 2008 British Hairdressing Awards Winners
December 4, 2008

2008 British Hairdressing Awards Winners


2008 British Hairdressing Awards Winners

The winners of the 24th British Hairdressing Awards were announced at a glittering awards ceremony held at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London’s Park Lane. The biggest event in the hairdressing calendar was a night hob Salon’s Akin Konizi certainly won’t forget as he was announced as the 2008 British Hairdresser of the Year. Konizi was ecstatic when he won the coveted title. “I couldn’t believe it when my name was called out, I was overwhelmed and delighted – winning the title is a dream come true,” he said.

He’s in good company, as over the past 24 years there have only been 14 hairdressers who have been awarded this title, the greatest accolade in hairdressing. They are – Trevor Sorbie, Anthony Mascolo, Irvine and Rita Rusk, John Frieda, Andrew Collinge, Nicky Clarke, Charles Worthington, Umberto Giannini, Beverly C, Mark Hill, Antoinette Beenders, Lisa Shepherd, Andrew Barton and Angelo Seminara.

Here are the 2008 British Hairdressing Awards Winners:

British Hairdresser of the Year 2008:
Akin Konizi, hob Salons, London

Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year:
James Rowe, Kontakt, London

Men’s Hairdresser of the Year:
Jamie Stevens, Errol Douglas, London

Afro Hairdresser of the Year:
Claire Rothstein, Bloww, London

Artistic Team of the Year:
hob Salons, London

Newcomer of the Year:
Victoria Nebbett, Monroe Hairdressing, Leatherhead

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year:
Christel Lundqvist, hob Salons, London

London Hairdresser of the Year:
Cos Sakkas, Toni & Guy, London

Southern Hairdresser of the Year:
Rae Palmer, Rae Palmer, Southsea

Eastern Hairdresser of the Year:
Terri Kay, Mark Lesson Hair, Body & Mind. Mansfield

Midlands Hairdresser of the Year:
Emma Steven, Lisa Shepherd Salons, Sutton Coldfield

North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year:
Paul Ferguson, Hooker & Young, Gosforth

North Western Hairdresser of the Year:
Sharon Peake, Ethos, Manchester

Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year:
Scott Smurthwaite, Cream, Gloucestershire

Scottish Hairdresser of the Year:
Tracey Devine, Angels, Aberdeen
Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year:
Keith Kane, Keith Kane Hair International, Carryduff

This year London salon owner Errol Douglas, the Trevor Sorbie Artistic Team, Tim Scott-Wright (from Lisa Shepherd Salons in Birmingham) and Robert Eaton (from Barnsley’s Russell Eaton Salon) were all presented with a Hall of Fame Award for winning their respective categories three times.

To learn more, go to www.britishhairdressingawards.co.uk

 WHAT?!?! You’re not a BTC member? Sign up now for FREE and start receiving your FREE tip of the day!

Subscribe to behindthechair.com “On Paper” Magazine–4 issues only $19.95 (Save $10)!!



On Paper Keyword: celebrityhob