Collections > NAHA 17 Finalists Announced
May 8, 2006

NAHA 17 Finalists Announced


NAHA 17 Finalists Announced

With The Help Of Our Own Mary Rector-Gable, NAHA Has Selected The Finalists In Twelve Categories That Honor Top Stylists And Professionals Across North America.

Check out the list below and then click on the links or individual images to check out who’s in the running!

A total of 592 entries were received for this year’s competition, an increase from the year prior. The NAHA judging process consisted of two rounds. The first, involved entrants’ peers narrowing the entries down to five finalists for each category (except Master Stylist of the Year, which does not go through the first round).

The twelve judges who participated in the first round of judging in New York City including Adam Broderick (Adam Broderick Salon), Mary Brunetti (Sally Hershberger Salon NYC), John Galietti (Xena’s Beauty Company), Dwight Miller, Richard Calcasola (Maximus), Scott Buchanon (Scott J. Salon & Spa), Chris Baran/Kris Sorbie (Redken 5th Ave.), Andrew Bartfield (L’Oreal), Kirstin Wilms (Carsten Aveda Institute), Laurent D (Prive), Beth or Carmine Minardi (Minardi NYC), Frank Rizzieri (Rizzieri Salon and Spa), Ruth Roche (Rare NYC), Coby Alcantar (Bumble and bumble), Antonio Prieto (Antonio Prieto Salon) and Frank Zona (Zona Salons).

BTC’s Mary Rector-Gable was one of the industry and consumer publications judges in NAHA’s second round. After reviewing the finalists’ entries on line, their votes determine the winner of each category.  Joining Mary were judges from Modern Salon, American Salon, Creative Age, Beauty Launchpad, Salon Magazine, In Our Salon, Elle, Marie Claire, InStyle, Self, Haircolor & Design, and Salon Today.
Winners will be announced during NAHA 17 taking place in conjunction with Cosmoprof North America held July 16-18, 2006 at the Mandalay Bay Convention Center in Las Vegas.  NAHA.kicks off on Sunday, July 16th with a red-carpet reception at 7:00pm. The evening’s awards gala runs from 8:00pm – 10:00pm. An exciting post-party will be held at Studio 54 in the MGM Grand.

To purchase tickets, visit www.hairstylingawards.com or call 877-557-5340. And for more information please log on to: www.cosmoprofnorthamerica.com.


Avant Garde Stylist of the Year
Wendy Bond (Oscar Bond Salon, New York, NY)
Michael Della Penna (Michael Della Penna’s Hair, St. Petersburg, FL)
Nicholas French (Matrix Academy, West Hampton, NY)
Daniel Holzberger (Van Michael Salons, Smyrna, GA)
Jake Thompson (Lunatic Fringe, Salt Lake City, UT)

Contemporary Classic Stylist of the Year
Jackie Elliott (Vault Salon & Spa, Winnipeg, MB)
Liza Espinoza Achurra (Zano Salons, Bolingbrook, IL)
Heath Grout (Toni & Guy, Newport Beach, CA)
Suzanne Martin (Three Small Rooms Hair Salon, Barrie, ON)
Dusty Simington (Salon Gregorie’s, Newport Beach, CA)

Editorial Stylist of the Year 
Michael Albor (Dorchester, MA)
Michael Baker (Springfield, LA)
Veronica Bessey (Carrollton, TX)
John Donato (Mississauga, ON)
Laurentius Purnama (Philadelphia, PA)

Haircolor Stylist of the Year
Rene Antonio (Salon Gregorie’s, Newport Beach, CA)
Adriana Balea (Johnny Cupella Salons, Toronto, ON)
Wendy Bond (Oscar Bond Salon, New York, NY)
Dorissa Cerven (Le Coupe Sauvage, St. Thomas, ON)
Karen Melay (Hair Factory, St. John’s, NL)

Long Hair Dressing Stylist of the Year
Curtis Blue Jermonti (Rolf’s in Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ)
Sonna Brado (Jaazz Salons, Spokane, WA)
Ann Bray (The Masters, Huntsville, AL)
Frank Cini (Taz Hair Co., Toronto, ON)
John Graham (Vault Salon and Spa, Winnipeg, MB)

Makeover Stylist of the Year
Carol Cini (Taz Hair Co., Toronto, ON)
Erin Fernandes (Entrenous, London, ON)
Fabio Sementill (Salon Shampoo, Woodbridge, ON)
Nakia Spriggs (Concepts Salon and Spa, Upper Marlboro, MD)
Lorraine Wilkins (Enviro Trends, St. Thomas, ON)

Make-Up Artist of the Year 
Maria Bikos (Entrenous, London, ON)
Cheryl Gushue (Toronto, ON)
Giancarlo Intini (Aurora, ON)
Noah (Costa Mesa, CA)
Angelia Senevisai (Maplewood, MN)

Master Stylist of the Year
Eric Fisher (Wichita, KS)
Scott Cole (Carefree, AZ)
James Morrison (Newport Beach, CA)
Dusty Simington (Newport Beach, CA)
Heather Wenman (London, ON)
North American Hairstylist of the Year
Maureen Anlauf (Juut SalonSpa, Maplewood, MD)
Zak Mascolo (TIGI Academy, New York, NY)
Anna Pacitto (Salon Pure, Montreal, PB)
Nick Staley (Salon Gregorie’s, Costa Mesa, CA)
Lorraine Wilkins (Enviro Trends, St. Thomas, ON)

North American Salon Team of the Year
Enviro Trends (St. Thomas, ON)
Hair After Salon & Spa (Willowdale, ON)
InPure (Montreal, PB)
Mood By Pure (Montreal, PB)
Salon Gregorie’s (Costa Mesa, CA)

North American Student Hairstylist of the Year 
Nicki Coletti (Lunatic Fringe/Academy Jake Thompson, Salt Lake City, UT)
John Paul Colombo (Hairafter Salon & Spa, Willowdale, ON)
Elle Gomez (Arangio Internazionale, Mexico City, MEX)
Devin Graciano (Citrus College, Upland, CA)
Kirby Keomysay (Capitol School of Hairstyling, Omaha, NE)

Texture Stylist of the Year
Robert Barker (Toni & Guy, Alpharetta, GA)
Zoe Cohen and Jeremy Taylor (Salon Gregorie’s, Newport Beach, CA)
Jackie Elliott (Vault Salon & Spa, Winnipeg, MB)
Karen Melay (Hair Factory, St. John’s, NL)
Christopher Vargas (Toni & Guy, Richardson, TX)
Want to be a NAHA winner?  Check out “How to Do a Successful Photo Shoot and Win a NAHA” in the BTC Bookstore.