Articles > BTC Breaking News: 2017 #ONESHOT Hair Awards Winners
August 15, 2017

BTC Breaking News: 2017 #ONESHOT Hair Awards Winners

It’s been only three years since the start of the #ONESHOT Hair Awards—and in those three years, it’s grown into the largest hair awards program in the world. After more than 215,000 entries from 61 countries in 26 categories, this year’s #ONESHOT deserved our best and biggest party ever! Check out all the action and the winners below!


Tonight, the 652 finalist shots—and EVERY shot submitted, all 215,000—were celebrated at BTC’s third annual #ONESHOT Hair Awards at the JW Marriot in Austin, Texas where we’re hosting our Behind The Chair show. We gave 12 #BIGSHOT Awards to celeb stylists, session artists, platform artists and educators and 20 #HOTSHOT Awards to hairdressers doing real hair behind the chair.


We also laughed (when Matty Conrad, Mark Bustos and Kevin Luchmun “rode” onto the stage on hobby horses), cried (when @saramay_level10 told us the story behind her Transformation Shot of the Year model) and cheered our hearts out when @leysahairandmakeup’s acceptance speech included this: “I came to this country 12 years ago with a backpack, not knowing one word of English, and now I’m here.” 


See all the #ONESHOT photos here! 


Congrats to all the nominees, and without further ado…here are your 2017 #ONESHOT winners!


2017 #HOTSHOT Winners


Hair Paint of the Year

Mika Rogerson, @mikaatbhc


Ombré Shot of the Year

Pavel Sheff, @sheffpavelstylist


Vibrant Shot of the Year

Frances Garcia, @makeupbyfrances


Unconventional Color

Stephany Smith, @stephygnarstagram


Color Melt Shot of the Year   

Presley Poe, @presleypoe


Pastel Shot of the Year

Melody & Michael Lowenstein, @rossmichaelssalon


Metallic Shot of the Year      

Brooke Benton, @brookebent


Platinum Shot of the Year

Maggie Hancock, @maggiemh


Braids Shot of the Year

Alex Pelerossi, @hair_by_pelerossi


Upstyling Shot of the Year    

Mirella Manelli, @mirellamanelli


Waves and Curls Shot of the Year

Leysa Carrillo, @leysahairandmakeup

  • Formula A:

    L'Oréal Professionnel Blond Studio Multi-Techniques Powder + Nutri-Developer 40-volume developer + Smartbond Step 1

  • Formula B:

    L'Oréal Professionnel #COLORFULHAIR Caribbean Blue

  • Formula C:

    L'Oréal Professionnel #COLORFULHAIR Hypnotic Magenta

  • Formula D:

    L'Oréal Professionnel #COLORFULHAIR Hypnotic Magenta + Clear


Haircut Shot of the Year

David Anders Palmira, @cutyourhair


Men’s Shot of the Year

Sofie Pok, @staygold31


Fade Shot of the Year

Eddie Gallegos Jr., @monster_eddiejr


Hair Tattoo Shot of the Year

Paul Mac Special, @paulmacspecial


Student Shot of the Year

Donna Nguyen, @unique_donna


Extensions Shot of the Year  

Sadie Curtin, @sadieface


Transformation Shot of the Year

Sara Pestella, @saramay_level10   

  • Formula A

    Aveda Enlightener Powder Lightener + 20-volume developer

  • Formula B

    Aveda Enlightener Powder Lightener + 30-volume developer

  • Formula C

    40g 6N + 4g Dark NN + 40g Deposit Only Liquid Activator

  • Formula D

    40g 10N + 40g 0N + 7g Pastel Violet


“BTC Quickie” of the Year

Alfredo Lewis, @alfredo_lewis; Rickey Zito, @hairgod_zito; Philip Wolff, @philipwolffhair, Yadiel A. Rodriguez, @arod23pr


Collaboration Shot of the Year

Leysa Carrillo, @leysahairandmakeup; Chita Beseau, @chitabeseau; Jay Rua, @jayrua_glam


2017 #BIGSHOT Winners


Avant Garde Shot of the Year

North American Winner: Matt Swinney, @matt.swinney

International Winner: Julia Beckers, @julia_beckers


Editorial Shot of the Year      

North American Winner: Deycke Heidorn, @deyckeheidorn

International Winner: Luke Benson, @lukebensonhair


Haircolor Shot of the Year     

North American Winner: Vu Nguyen, @hairbyvu

International Winner: Christos Michailidis, @christosmichailidis


Creative Color Shot of the Year

North American Winner: Leah Freeman, @leahatfuse

International Winner: John Spanton, @johnspantonhair


Men’s Shot of the Year

North American Winner: Whitney Vermeer, @whitneyvermeer

International Winner: Terri Kay, @terri.a.kay


Haircut Shot of the Year

North American Winner: Jeremy Mcdougle, @mcdougle86

International Winner: Darren Ambrose, @djambrosehair