Articles > The All-Star Chop Shop Jam
September 1, 2017

The All-Star Chop Shop Jam

The BTC Chop Shop squad: Presley Poe (@presleypoe), Whitney Vermeer, (@whitneyvermeer), Mark Bustos (@markbustos), Kevin Luchmun (@kevinluchmun), Buddy Porter (@buddywporter), Joel Torres (@joeltorres), Matty Swinney (@mattswinney) and Matty Conrad (@mattyconrad).

 

To say the #thebtcshow 2017 ended on a high note would be completely underselling the finale. The show ended with a stratospherically beyond-your-wildest-dreams note—a fast and furious cutting jam, featuring an all-star lineup of barber and haircutting stars.

 

Representing the big time were British Hairdressing Men’s Stylist of the Year Kevin Luchmun, Master TIGI Educator Joel Torres, #ONESHOT winner Matt Swinney and barber bros Mark Bustos and Matty Conrad. Rising star newcomers included social media stars and #ONESHOT winners Whitney Vermeer and Presley Poe, and BTC Celebrity Panel Member Buddy Porter.

 

Kevin produced a head-turning fade on textured hair.

 

The premise was simple. Mary invited each artist to grab a model, hit the stage and make the hair fall.  Each one took the opportunity to do a cut that showcased their signature skills:

  • Matt performed a dry cut for the client who doesn’t want to lose length but wants a fresh look.
  • Kevin etched a tight fade into highly textured hair.
  • Presley transformed an asymmetric cut, giving it balance, proportion and femininity.
  • Presley debulked and blended a too-solid shape.
  • Mark adapted his precision barbering skills to a female model with textured hair.
  • Joel created a midlength haircut with a choppy fringe.
  • Matty and Whitney brought out a variety of modern barbering techniques for their male models.
  • Buddy turned out a perfect, lived-in haircut and style in record time. (Even though it was his first time on a hair stage!)

 

Buddy and his lived-in lob.

 

The cuts were accompanied by plenty of tips and education, such as:

  • “When creating a solid blunt line, cut on dry hair and use your comb rather than your fingers, otherwise you’ll create elevation.”—Matt Swinney
  • “When texturizing, you have to section systematically or you’ll wind up with more hair on one side than the other.”—Presley Poe
  • “When a client is trying to grow out damaged hair, start by giving her a healthy haircut. If the ends are starting to split they will just continue to creep up. A midlength, textured lob is a great solution.”—Buddy Porter