0
Articles > Celebrity > 2023 Critics’ Choice Awards: 12 Celebrity Hair Looks We Loved
Last updated: January 16, 2023

2023 Critics’ Choice Awards: 12 Celebrity Hair Looks We Loved

best red carpet looks critics choice awards 2023 angela bassett hairjunkierandy
close formula
Photo Credit: Instagram via @hairjunkierandy

12 Glam Moments From The 2023 Critics’ Choice Awards

It’s awards show season! Last week, we gave you the rundown of our favorite Golden Globes looks. Today, it’s time to show you the best-dressed and styled celebs at the 2023 Critics’ Choice Awards in Los Angeles. Keep reading to see 12 of our fave looks—plus, the products and pro tips you need to recreate them!

 

1. Anya Taylor Joy

Gracing the red carpet in a sheer Dior dress, Anya Taylor Joy (@anyataylorjoy) paired her elegant gown with a dreamy, knotted updo by Gregory Russell (@gregoryrussellhair).

 

 
 
 
 

 

View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Gregory Russell (@gregoryrussellhair)

 

It’s all about the details: Nail artist Kim Truong (@kimkimnails) did not miss a beat when tying Anya’s look together with a delicately bedazzled nail.

best red carpet looks critics choice awards 2023 anya taylor joy kimkimnails dior
close formula

Photo Credit: Instagram via @kimkimnails

 

2. Janelle Monáe

Heads turned to get a closer look at Janelle Monáe‘s (@janellemonae) unique hairstyle created by Nikki Nelms (@nikkinelms) for the red carpet last night. She used thin, airy-textured yarn to thread into Janelle’s hair. “I thought it would add some subtle coolness to her hair,” Nikki said.

 

Insider Scoop: Get Nikki’s go-to products below!

  • Maui Moisture Curl Quench Shampoo & Conditioner
  • Maui Moisture Flaxseed Curl Refresher Mist
  • Maui Moisture Flexible Hold Curl Foam Mousse

 

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Hair MacGyver. (@nikkinelms)

best red carpet looks critics choice awards 2023 janelle monae
close formula

Photo Credit: Instagram via @nikkinelms 

 

3. Angela Bassett

Celebrity stylist Randy Stodghill (@hairjunkierandy) created a sleek pony for 2023 Critics’ Choice winner Angela Bassett (@im.angelabassett) using PHYTO products.

 

Regarding his inspiration, Randy said, “Angela is a sophisticated woman who has style and class. She doesn’t follow trends or try to be something she’s not—and this is what we wanted to capture in her look tonight!” Keep reading to learn how to recreate this sophisticated ponytail:

 

Get The Look: 

  • Step 1: Blow-dry the hair with a medium-sized round brush and Phytovolume Volumizing Blow Dry Spray for max volume.
  • Step 2: Massage Phytospecific Baobab Oil from root to end for heat protection and smoothness. 
  • Step 3: Curl the hair in sections with a 1 ½-inch curling iron, spraying Phytolaque Soie for lasting hold. 
  • Step 4: Finish the look with Phytodefrisant Anti-Frizz Touch-Up Care to smooth any flyaways.  

 

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by randy stodghill (@hairjunkierandy)

 

4. Sadie Sink

Despite all of the intricate styles we’ve seen this year, we always welcome low-maintenance looks to the red carpet. “Stranger Things” and “The Whale” star Sadie Sink (@sadiesink_) paired her sequined Chanel Couture gown with simple (but stunning) glam waves by Ryan Richman (@ryanrichman). Ryan used Aveda products and Olivia Garden tools to create Sadie’s look.

 

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by RYAN RICHMAN (@ryanrichman)

 

5. Milly Alcock 

Looking perfectly elegant in 2018 Fashion Week Dior styled by Holly White (@hollyevawhite), Milly Alcock’s (@millyalcock) outfit was (literally) tied together by celebrity stylist Graham Nation (@grahamnation) with a long black bow.

 

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Graham Nation (@grahamnation)

 

Read Next: 15 Winter Styling Trends Your Clients Will Request!

 

6. Devery Jacobs

Next to Janelle Monáe’s threaded updo, Devery Jacobs (@kdeveryjacobs) had the most eye-catching look on the red carpet. Created by celebrity stylist Rena Calhoun (@rena.calhoun) using Virtue products, Devery’s half-up, half-down look featured two spiky buns that paired perfectly with her black-and-blonde hair. Color blocking is going to be huge in 2023, so be sure to freshen up your skills with this copper color block formula!

 

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Rena Calhoun | Hairdresser (@rena.calhoun)

 

7. Kaley Cuoco

Joining Sadie Sink on the low-maintenance side of the red carpet, Kaley Cuoco (@kaleycuoco) beamed in her Dior gown and effortless waves. Marilee Albin (@hairbymarilee) brought this look to life with Redken‘s Brushable Hair Spray, Spray Wax and Dry Texture Finish Spray. 

 

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Marilee (@hairbymarilee)

 

8. Kerry Washington 

Kerry Washington’s (@kerrywashington) red carpet look was everything we want to see in 2023: tons of volume and fluffy texture. Created by Kerry’s go-to stylist for the past 20 years, Takisha Sturdivant-Drew (@takishahair), Takisha used As I Am, uberliss and KeraCare products to set Kerry’s sleek, curly pony.

 

“Once I saw the dress, I knew I wanted to pull it back, but I still wanted to see her hair,” Takisha said. “So we chose a sleek, pulled back look with lots of volume coming down the back. She looked like a goddess,” she added. 

 

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Takisha Sturdivant-Drew (@takishahair)

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Takisha Sturdivant-Drew (@takishahair)

 

9. Madelyn Cline

Channeling the iconic Grace Kelly, Ted Gibson (@tedgibson) had “Glass Onion” star Madelyn Cline (@madelyncline) oozing Hollywood glam on the red carpet last night—plus, we are so excited to see the return of the dramatic side part.

 

In regards to creating Madelyn’s look, Ted said, “When I work, it’s about the moment. It’s about how she feels, who she wants to be and giving her the confidence to be in front of millions of people in an instant.”

 

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Ted Gibson (@tedgibson)

 

10. Quinta Brunson

Winning a Golden Globe for Best Actress in a Comedy TV Series less than a week ago, “Abbot Elementary” star, writer and producer Quinta Brunson (@quintab) took home the 2023 Critics’ Choice Award for Best Actress in a Comedy Series…again! Wearing a Robert Wun (@robertwun) gown styled by Byron Javar (@byronjavar), Quinta’s snatched updo by celebrity hairstylist Alexander Armand (@alexander_armand) was the perfect final touch to complete her sleek look. 

 

Get The Look: Here are Alexander’s must-have products to prep and set Quinta’s piecey updo!

 

  • Maui Moisture Castor & Neem Oil Shampoo & Conditioner
  • Maui Moisture Curl Quench & Coconut Oil Ultra Hold Gel
  • Maui Moisture Coconut Milk Weightless Oil Mist 
  • Olivia Garden NanoThermic Large Paddle Brush
  • Olivia Garden Ceramic+ion High-Performance Professional Flat Iron 
  • Olivia Garden Ceramic+ion Supreme & Styler Brush
 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by alexander_armand (@alexander_armand)

 

11. Lily James

2022’s Fringe Fever is continuing straight into the new year as we see celebs and clients alike adding fun fringe to their traditional haircut requests. Lily James (@lilyjamesofficial) flawlessly captured the trend on the red carpet with the help of celebrity stylist Halley Brisker (@halleybrisker).

 

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by 𝙃𝙖𝙡𝙡𝙚𝙮 𝘽𝙧𝙞𝙨𝙠𝙚𝙧 (@halleybrisker)

 

Halley shared a behind-the-scenes shot on IG of her red carpet kit featuring Nexxus!

best red carpet looks critics choice awards 2023 nexxus hair care
close formula

 

12. Daisy Edgar Jones

Simple and textured, Daisy Edgar Jones (@daisyedgarjones) spiced up her bob with some gently tousled waves by Kylee Heath (@kyleeheathhair).

 

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Kylee Heath (@kyleeheathhair)