Articles > Events > The 2016 British Hairdressing Awards Winners Are Here!
Last updated: October 30, 2017

The 2016 British Hairdressing Awards Winners Are Here!

close formula

Last night saw 1,700 of Britain’s finest hairdressers gather at London’s glamorous Grosvenor House, which means only one thing: the British Hairdressing Awards! Now in their fourth decade, the Schwarzkopf Professional-sponsored awards celebrate the very best in British hairdressing talent. The awards have launched the careers of a host of household names (think Anthony Mascolo, John Frieda and Trevor Sorbie!)—find out who took home awards and who won the most-anticipated prize of the night, British Hairdresser of the Year!



British Hairdresser of the Year
Angelo Seminara took home the evening’s top award—the fourth time he’s done so! “Sitting here tonight and seeing the amount of work that’s gone into everyone’s collections is inspirational,” Angelo said. “The British hairdressing industry is full of such amazing talent, and it just keeps growing. I need to thank two people who have enabled me to be where I am today—my wife and, of course, Trevor Sorbie.”







Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year
Julian Dalrymple, The Sitting Room, Ballymena



*Julian took home BTC’s 2015
#BIGSHOT Award for International Editorial Shot of the Year!



Midlands Hairdresser of the Year
Nick Malenko and Sophie Beattie, Royston Blythe, Wolverhampton




North Western Hairdresser of the Year
Marcello Moccia, Room 97 Creative Hairdressing, Wakefield




Scottish Hairdresser of the Year
Suzie McGill and Dylan Brittain, Rainbow Room International, Uddingston




North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year
Joseph Ferraro, Joseph Ferraro, Harrogate 




Southern Hairdresser of the Year
Anne Veck, Anne Veck Salons, Oxford





Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year
Steven Smart, Smartest 73, Weston-Super-Mare



*Steven recently took home BTC’s 2016
#BIGSHOT Award for International Haircolor Shot of the Year!



Eastern Hairdresser of the Year
Joseph I’Anson and Lisa Graham, Mark Leeson, Mansfield




London Hairdresser of the Year
Luke Benson, D&J Ambrose, Pinner, Middlesex




Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year
Indira Schauwecker, TONI&GUY, Covent Garden




Newcomer of the Year
William Lamb, Daniel Granger Hairdressing, Northampton



Men’s Hairdresser of the Year
Terri Kay and Andrea Giles, Mark Leeson, Mansfield





Afro Hairdresser of the Year
Robert Eaton and Karla Ancliff-Smith, Russell Eaton, Leeds





Artistic Team of the Year
Angelo Vallillo Academy, Nottingham 




Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year
Robert Eaton, Russell Eaton, Leeds



More from
Anthony Mascolo