Articles > Awards Shows > 2017 British Hairdressing Awards Winners Announced
Last updated: November 28, 2017

2017 British Hairdressing Awards Winners Announced

close formula

More than 1,500 hairdressers celebrated Great Britain’s top talent at the 2017 British Hairdressing Awards, sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional and hosted by Hairdressers Journal International. Hairdressers were recognized in 16 categories, including regional entries and specialist collections, plus the ultimate accolade—British Hairdresser of the Year.


Hosted by Cat Deeley, guests and finalists enjoyed entertainment by pop supergroup Boyzlife and were inspired by Schwarzkopf Professional’s Ikonic Looks presentation by session stylist Tyler Johnston, Lesley Jennison and Rainbow Room International’s award-winning duo, Suzie McGill and Dylan Brittain.


Finalists are judged twice by a panel consisting of hairdressing legends, leading national beauty press and past winners of the awards who have since joined the British Hairdressing Awards Hall of Fame, an accolade presented to those who win the same category on more than three occasions. 


See the winners below, and click the “C” icon to view winning collections!


British Hairdresser of the Year

Sally Brooks, Brooks & Brooks, London

Sally is the first female winner of the top award since 2005. “I never thought I’d be standing on stage accepting this award, especially as I was up against such amazing hairdressers that I respect so much,” Sally said. “Thank you to my amazing team and the support they give to me and each other, and thank you to my photographer, Jenny Hands. She was the first photographer I worked with back when we were test shooting. I couldn’t have done this without her!”




Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year

Robert Eaton, Russell Eaton, Leeds




Artistic Team of the Year

RUSH Hair, London




Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year

Emmanuel Esteban, Anne Veck Salons, Oxford



Men’s Hairdresser of the Year

Terri Kay and Andrea Giles, Mark Leeson, Mansfield




Newcomer of the Year

Olivia Nevill, Ashley Gamble, Shifnal




Afro Hairdresser of the Year

Charlotte Mensah, Hair Lounge, London



Eastern Hairdresser of the Year

Joseph I’Anson and Lisa Graham, Mark Leeson, Mansfield



London Hairdresser of the Year

Indira Schauwecker, TONI&GUY Bedford Street, London



Midlands Hairdresser of the Year

Shaun Hall, Mark Leeson, Chesterfield



North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year

Isobel Eaton, Russell Eaton, Barnsley



North Western Hairdresser of the Year

Daniel Couch and Ashleigh Maybank, Russell Eaton, Leeds



Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year

Julie Cherry and Colette Fitzpatrick, Shane Bennett Salon, Lisburn



Scottish Hairdresser of the Year

Suzie McGill & Dylan Brittain, Rainbow Room International, Glasgow



Southern Hairdresser of the Year

Thomas Hills, TH1 Hair, Oxted



Wales and South West Hairdresser of the Year

Zoe Williams & Scott Evans, Ken Picton Salon, Cardiff