News > Events > BREAKING NEWS: 2019 NAHA Winners Announced!
Last updated: January 27, 2019

BREAKING NEWS: 2019 NAHA Winners Announced!

close formula
Julie Vriesinga took home the 2019 Hairstylist of the Year Award!

Welcome to 2019 and a new venue for the North American Hairstyling Awards! This year, the event moved to Long Beach during the International Salon & Spa Expo, hosted by 2018 Olympic Bronze Medalist Figure Skater Adam Rippon. From the backstage tricks to gorgeous artistic presentations and all the winners, including Julie Vriesinga, taking home the night’s biggest award—Hairstylist of the Year!—BTC had a front row seat, so keep scrolling.


Inspiring artistic presentations by Amika, Olivia Garden, L’Oréal Professionnel and 2018 NAHA Hairstylist of the Year Danielle Keasling, Ulta Beauty Pro Team Member, Matrix Artistic Director and Great Lengths USA Executive Director, were a show highlight. We also loved seeing Michelle O’Connor of  The Salon by InStyle & JCPenney take home two awards (Avant Garde & Texture) and her third Texture Award in a row!


And the winners are…


Michelle O’Connor took home her third Texture Award, plus the Avant Garde Award! Photo courtesy @probeautyassoc.


Hairstylist of the Year

Julie Vriesinga
Salon Entrenous  |  Forest, ON
Photographer: Paula Tizzard
Wardrobe Stylist: Julie Vriesinga
Makeup Artist: Florencia Taylor


Master Hairstylist of the Year

Silas Tsang

BLUSHES  |  Ottawa, ON
Photographer: Andrew O’Toole
Wardrobe Stylist: Ella Murphy
Makeup Artist: Kylie O’Toole


Avant Garde Award

Michelle O’Connor

Salon by In Style JCP  |  Hollywood, FL

Photographer: Roberto Ligresti

Wardrobe Stylist: Nikko Kefalas

Makeup Artist: Joanne Gair


Editorial/Session Stylist of the Year

Dilek Onur-Taylor

Salon by In Style JCP  |  Chicago, IL

Photographer: Roberto Ligresti


Haircolor Award

Chrystofer Benson

Chrystofer Benson  |  South Weber, UT

Photographer: John Rawson

Wardrobe Stylist: Hannah Leigh

Makeup Artist: Danielle Donahue


Haircutting Award

Lori Zabel

Dop Dop Salon  |  New York, NY

Photographer: BABAK

Wardrobe Stylist: Pascal Et Jeremie

Makeup Artist: Marie-Laure Larrieu & Gwendoline Carcaly


Men’s Hairstylist of the Year

Pete Goupil

Pete Goupil  |  Brossard, QC

Photographer: Jordan Holloway

Wardrobe Stylist: Alicia Leclerc

Makeup Artist: Marika D’Auteuil


Styling and Finishing Award

Sarajane Maples

Studio Sage  |  Atlantic Beach, FL
Photographer: Daryna Barykina
Makeup Artist: Jill Rae Bogers


Texture Award

Michelle O’Connor

Salon by Instyle JCPenney  |  Hollywood, FL

Photographer: Roberto Ligresti

Wardrobe Stylist: Nikko Kefalas

Makeup Artist: David Maderich


Student Hairstylist of the Year

Mckell Hird

Aveda Institute Provo  |  Provo, UT

Photographer: Keith Bryce

Wardrobe Stylist: Heidi Gress

Makeup Artist: Anne Skubis


Newcomer of the Year

Jesse Ervin

Civello Salon  |  Toronto, ON

Photographer: Natasha Gerschon

Makeup Artist: Hassan Haque


Salon Team of the Year

Ulta Beauty Pro Team

Bolingbrook, IL

Photographer: Richard Monsieurs

Wardrobe Stylist: Julia Muller

Makeup Artist: Deney Adam

Hairstylists: Nick Stenson, Ammon Carver, Danielle Keasling, Sean Godard, Carmody Homan & Sonya Dove

Assistants: Kate Beko, Haley Kimble, Jerwin Carlos, Leo Valencia & Tanya Lange


Nail Professional of the Year

Sarah Nguyen

Photographer: Richard Monsieurs

Hair Stylist: Ammon Carver Studio

Makeup Artist: Deney Adam


Makeup Artist of the Year

Florencia Taylor

Florencia Taylor  |  London, ON

Photographer: Paula Tizzard

Wardrobe Stylist: Julie Vriesinga


Salon/School Design of the Year

Penzone Salon + Spa

Dublin, OH

Photographer: Cory Klein


People’s Choice Award

Matthew Rouse

Serenity Couture  |  Des Moines, IA

Photographer: Trav McAvaddy