0
News > #AmplifyDiverseHair For National Diversity Week With Wella—Here’s How!
October 6, 2020

#AmplifyDiverseHair For National Diversity Week With Wella—Here’s How!

Wella Professionals #AmplifyDiverseHair National Diversity Week Instagram Lives Schedule
close formula

How To Celebrate National Diversity Week With Wella Stylists 

To celebrate National Diversity Week from October 4-10, Wella brands are partnering with educator and industry activist Keya Artistically Neal (@keyaartistically) to challenge the stylist community to #AmplifyDiverseHair. Here’s how: By sharing the work of diverse stylists on their Insta feeds. Plus, hosting an amazing lineup of Instagram lives with the Wella family and top stylists! Keep reading for all of the details. 

 

The Wella family of brands—Wella Professionals, Nioxin and Sebastian Professional—is committed to improving diversity, inclusion and equity within their organizations and in the professional hair industry. The goal? For stylists to have equal opportunities and ensure all hair types are celebrated. Here’s how you can participate!

 

“In observance of this week, and as part of Wella’s broader diversity, equity and inclusion efforts, we challenge our stylist community to #AmplifyDiverseHair and the work of diverse hairdressers,” Wella shared on Instagram. “Join us this week as we put diversity in the spotlight, celebrating different cultures, hair textures and stylists,” Wella shared on Instagram. Plus, don’t forget to tune in to watch the series of Instagram Live events featuring Wella ambassadors and guest artists.

 

Check Out The IG Live Schedule & Hosts:

 

Monday, October 5

  • 6PM PT / 9PM EST: Briana Cisneros (@brianacisneros) feat. Brianna Officer (@foxyroxhair)

 

Tuesday, October 6

  • 7AM PT / 10AM EST: Diane Stevens (@dianecolestevens) feat. Renee Williams (@rwforhair1)

 

  • 7PM PT / 10PM EST: Sonya Dove (@sonyadove) feat. Leonardo Valencia (@leo.valencia)

 

Wednesday, October 7

  • 4PM PT / 7PM EST: Zach Mesquit (@zachmesquit) feat. Kara Williams (@haircolorkilla)

 

  • 5:30 PM PT / 8:30 PM EST: Patricia Nikole (@paintedhair) feat. Belle Hinton (@balayagedbybelle)

 

Thursday, October 8

  • 11AM PT / 2PM EST on @wellahairusa: Carole Protat (@carolepro) feat. Keya Artistically Neal (@keyaartistically)

 

Friday, October 9 

  • 10AM PT / 1PM EST: Diane Stevens (@dianecolestevens) feat. Johannie Jaquitte (@4theflair4hair)

 

  • 5PM PT / 8PM EST: Sonya Dove (@sonyadove) feat. Bianca Donahue (@biancad.beauty)

 

Here Are A Few Words Of Inspiration From Wella’s Industry Activist Partners

 

“The Church and the Salons are the only two institutions left to be overtly segregated. Yet both of these institutions have the power to change the world. As artists and creatives, we must collectively push the one agenda that supports us a whole, the one that requires us to reach beyond our comfort zones and increase the standard of professionalism. We must intentionally force diversity and inclusion into the core of the beauty industry until it’s no longer a task. We must be intentional until it’s normal. We are responsible for educating ourselves on all fabrics of hair regardless of race. Our job is to look beyond the skin color and be prepared to handle every fabric that walks in our doors. We must also see the multifaceted beauty of all art forms beyond your own familiarity. We can only do that by getting uncomfortable with our comfort, learn the unfamiliar, and unlearn the suggested. Hair is a fabric, not a race.” – Keya Neal, @keyaartistically, Educator and Industry Activist, founder of The Kolour Kulture and Texture vs Race

 

“Our mission is for #BlackColoristsMatter to be the vehicle for deeper engagement amongst Black artists and an educational platform to advance the artistry and technical skill of hair color within the professional Black hair industry. We realize Black beauty professionals aren’t given the same resources as our peers, so to create change we seek to partner with brands that will help promote equity and inclusion. We are excited to partner with Wella during National Diversity Week. Wella’s efforts to amplify diverse hair, support our mission and goal for #BlackColoristsMatter as well as our objective to change the narrative about beauty as it relates to textured hair.” – Jessica Kidd, Founder of @BlackColoristsMatter

 

For more info, check out the IG post below!