News > News > 2021 British Hairdressing Awards Winners Announced
Last updated: December 02, 2021

2021 British Hairdressing Awards Winners Announced

close formula
Image courtesy of Hairdressers Journal International

See Who Won 2021’s British Hairdressing Awards

After a year of virtual events, HJ’s British Hairdressing Awards 2021 was back to celebrate all things British in person! Sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional and hosted by Hairdressers Journal International, keep scrolling to see who took home an award on November 29—especially the coveted British Hairdresser of the Year.


The Show

Winners received their awards at the Grosvenor House in London’s Park Lane. Rylan Clarke-Neal was the host for the evening with Executive Director of HJ’s British Hairdressing Awards Jayne Lewis-Orr and General Manager for Henkel Beauty Care Professional UK & Ireland Julian Crane. During the ceremony, guests were treated to entertainment from legendary musician Tony Hadley and live shows from the British nominees showcasing incredible hair artistry.


Click through to see some of the hair presentations!

Image courtesy of Hairdressers Journal International // Cos Sakkas


The awards—now in their 37th year—are a celebration of hairdressing excellence, recognizing the outstanding achievements of stylists from England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. The competition is fiercely contested over two rounds and requires entrants to submit a photographic collection showcasing their expertise, both in terms of technical skill and creative ability. 


Categories acknowledge the best hairdressers from nine British regions, as well as standout talent in eight specialist categories including Afro, Men’s, Avant Garde and Colour Technician. The biggest award of the event—British Hairdresser of the Year—is by nomination only. Robert Eaton (@robertjeaton) scooped the title for the second time this year. 


Here’s some looks from Robert’s winning “British Hairdresser of the Year” collection!

Instagram via @robertjeaton


“All our winners have demonstrated that they are accomplished and gifted stylists with an impeccable eye for detail,” says Jayne. “Congratulations to all our winners who should feel incredibly proud to be recognized at this level.”


Julian adds, “Schwarzkopf Professional is honored to once again be the sponsor of this seminal event which recognizes the most exciting talent in a remarkable industry. It is a true privilege to be back in this beautiful room, celebrating stylists from all four corners of the country.”


Image courtesy of Hairdressers Journal International


Specialist Category Winners 2021

British Hairdresser of the Year:  Robert Eaton, Russell Eaton


Afro Hairdresser of the Year: Rick Roberts, Rick Roberts Hair


Artistic Team of the Year: EGO Hair Design


Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year: Sylvestre Finold, Toni&Guy Wimbledon


Men’s Hairdresser of the Year: Caroline Sanderson & Barry Lachlan, EGO Hair Design


Newcomer of the Year: Abbie Johnson, Mark Leeson


Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year: Siobhan Haug, Toni&Guy


Trend Image of the Year: Sharon Malcolm, Sharon Malcolm Hairdressing


International Collection of the Year: Pavel Okhapkin, Fashion Hair Studio


Regional Winners 2021

Eastern Hairdresser of the Year: Olivia Binch, Mark Leeson


London Hairdresser of the Year: Daniele De Angelis, Toni&Guy Shoreditch


Midlands Hairdresser of the Year: Shaun Hall, Mark Leeson


North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year: Jonathan Turner, Hooker & Young


North Western Hairdresser of the Year: Lynsey Harrison, Renaissance Hair & Beauty


Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year: Sharon Malcolm, Sharon Malcolm Hairdressing


Scottish Hairdresser of the Year: Caroline Sanderson & Barry Lachlan, EGO Hair Design


Southern Hairdresser of the Year: Marcus Giamattei, Marc Antoni


Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year: Alison Adams & Martene Mallett, MODE Hair


Hall of Fame 2021: Winning the same category three times:

  • Andrea Giles & Terri Kay, Mark Leeson


  • Lisa Graham & Joseph I’Anson, Mark Leeson


  • Julie Cherry, Shane Bennett Salon


  • Dylan Brittain, Rainbow Room International