Collections > 2012 Hair Expo Awards Finalists Announced
March 16, 2012

2012 Hair Expo Awards Finalists Announced


2012 Hair Expo Awards Finalists Announced

As the longest-running and most respected hair awards in the Southern Hemisphere, the awards at Hair Expo have always attracted the cream of Australia and New Zealand’s hairdressing crop. They set the industry standard in both countries and help to promote the outstanding achievements of the region locally and to the rest of the world.

Earlier this week, the finalists for the coveted 2012 Schwarzkopf Professional Hair Expo Awards were announced. Now in their 27th year, the awards represent one of the highest accolades within the industry and honor the best creative and business talent in the region. A 20-strong panel of independent industry experts from both Australia and New Zealand spent two full days scrutinising almost 200 entries to reach the finalist selection.

After one of the largest number of submissions in years, 10 finalists were chosen to run for the top prize of Australian Hairdresser of the Year. When judging this category, the decision is based on both the entrant’s photographic collection and an in depth submission that outlines factors such as their integrity, peer recognition, entrepreneurial success, education and contribution to the advancement of the industry.

The 2012 Hair Expo Awards finalists are…

Australian Hairdresser of the Year
Frank Apostolopoulos | Biba, Fitzroy, VIC
Emiliano Vitale | é Salon, Wahroongah, NSW
Craig Smith | Fruition, Brisbane, QLD
Damien Rinaldo | Hair Machine, Norwood, SA
Caterina DiBiase | Heading Out Hair & Beauty, Fitzroy, VIC
Joey Scandizzo | Joey Scandizzo Salon, South Yarra, VIC
Tracey Hughes | Mieka Hairdressing, Collingwood, VIC 
Phillip Barwick | Muse Hairdressing, Surry Hills, NSW
Robert Bava | Parlour Hair, Adelaide, SA
Sharon Blain | The Art of Hair, Beecroft, NSW

New Zealand Hairdresser of the Year
Sara Allsop
Adrian Barclay
Mana Dave
Jock Robson

Colour Technician of the Year
Matt Clements
Belinda Keeley
Kate Rawnsley
Marie Uva

New Creative Force
Alexandra Kontos
Ryan Mitchell
Lisa Muscat
Jules Tognini

Photographic Collection of the Year
Frank Apostolopolous
Robert Bava
Matt Clements
Joey Scandizzo

Salon Team of the Year
é Salon
Mieka Hairdressing
Suki Hairdressing Paddington

Session Stylist of the Year
Daren Borthwick
Lores Giglio
Richard Kavanagh
Sarah Laidlaw

Apprentice/Student of the Year
Gen Collerton
Mason Fahim
Kristy Furniss
Igor Rosales-Jackson

Salon Design
Charlie Salon
Head Studio
Toni&Guy Subiaco
Tribe Lifestyle

Winners in the 2012 Schwarzkopf Professional Hair Expo Awards will be announced at a gala extravaganza on Monday, June 11, 2012. 

Get more information at www.hairexpoaustralia.com

Subscribe to behindthechair.com On Paper Magazine!