Articles > Ukraine’s Sergiy Shapochka Wins the American Crew 2015 All-Star Challenge
April 14, 2015

Ukraine’s Sergiy Shapochka Wins the American Crew 2015 All-Star Challenge

close formula

By Heather Haemker


The best of the best in men’s grooming converged on Rome, Italy tonight, where 15 American Crew All-Star Challenge finalists gathered to battle it out for the title of Global Champion. After a final photo shoot that took place over two days with fresh (Italian) models, each finalist was given 30 minutes to select one photo to represent their final cut. After a day of pouring over photos, the judges have declared a winner—Sergiy Shapochka of Ukraine.



The event recognizes the best stylists in the world, and celebrates their talent and dedication to the art of men’s grooming. “The All-Star Challenge is to celebrate the best of the best,” said American Crew Founder, David Raccuglia. “These people all entered with phenomenal photographs. They came here tonight to show you their work, and they came here tonight to be the only one to walk away as the best global barber and hairdresser in our community.”


More than 1,700 stylists from 26 countries entered the competition. The global judging panel for the competition consisted of: Raccuglia; Paul Wilson, American Crew Artistic Director; Wayne Gross, Fashion Director, Maxim; Sergi Bancells, General Manager USA, Spain and Latin America, Estetica Magazine; and Jerome Kantner, 2013-2014 American Crew All-Star Challenge Global Champion



“It feels amazing. I still can’t believe I won,” shares Sergiy. “My inspiration for my look came from movies of the ’60s and ’70s—”Rebel Without a Cause.” He is a character like James Dean and James Bond; the guy that is quiet, masculine and discreet, and speaks with his actions, not with his words.”

Photo by David Racculgia for American Crew.


Here’s a look at all the final shots from the All-Star Challenge finalists!


Canada: David Andreas Kyrkiris


Denmark: Kevin Birk


France: Guillaume Fort


Germany: Marcel Kuchenbrod


Hungary: Zsanett Fabian


Italy: Sergio Criscino


Mexico: Armando Rivas De La Cruz


Norway: Inger Lise Moa


Peru: Jaime Ruiz Tello


Poland: Krzysztof Chodorski


Spain: Raul Santana


Sweden: Homan Taghizadeh


Switzerland: Leonard Cakolli


United States: Alyssa Brasket


All photos by David Raccuglia for American Crew.


See all the photos from the event!