Articles > Events > Meet the Wella Scholarship Winners
November 16, 2014

Meet the Wella Scholarship Winners

close formula

Class is about to be in session for 10 aspiring hairstylists and 10 licensed beauty professionals, thanks to the Vidal Sassoon Professional Beauty Education Scholarship. The scholarships represent a commitment by Wella to fund 200 scholarships between 2013 and 2017. The $1.5 million scholarship grant established by Wella’s Hairdressers at Heart program and administered by the Beauty Changes Lives Foundation, honors the legacy of the late Vidal Sassoon and his belief in continual learning throughout the professional hairstylist’s career.


The basic scholarships are awarded to individuals seeking a career in hairstyling and cover 50 percent of tuition at a qualified cosmetology school, up to $10,000. The advanced scholarships, awarded to licensed hairstylists, cover a five-day course at one of the North America-based Sassoon Academies, plus travel and accommodations up to $5,000.


New elements to the 2014 scholarship competition included an opportunity for “Advanced” scholarship applicants to have their work showcased in Wella’s 2015 Look Book. These enhancements helped boost submissions in both the Basic and Advanced competitions.


While the 2014 competition introduced some new enhancements, Wella North America CEO, Sal Mauceri said the competition remains true to its original purpose – paying forward the legacy of Vidal Sassoon. “Vidal Sassoon redefined what it means to be a hairstylist, blending elements of art, architecture and fashion with an entrepreneurial mindset that made him one of the most successful fashion and beauty brands in history,” said Sal. “Throughout his career journey, Vidal emphasized the value of education and pushing one’s boundaries and Wella’s Hairdressers at Heart is humbled to pay forward his legacy.”



The “Basic” Scholarship Winners


Elissa Alferez of Cinta Aveda Institute, CA
Sarah Cooper of The Salon Professional Academy, TX
Melanie DeMass of Douglas J Aveda Institute, MI
Amanda Duffy of Arrojo Cosmetology, NY
Dina Furr of Aveda Institute – Charlotte, NC
VonShay Green of Paul Mitchell the School – Huntsville, AL
Erica Jones of Rizzieri Aveda School for Beauty and Wellness, PA
Caroline Kessler of Arrojo Cosmetology, NY
Alexandra Van Bebber of Penrose Academy, AZ
 Julia Wiedeman of Arrojo Cosmetology, NY


The Advanced Winners


Katrina Beede, Owner/Stylist at Face it!, OR
Olivia Chafe, Stylist at The Head Room Salon and Spa, Newfoundland, CA
Crystal Kemp, Cosmetology Instructor at Aveda Institute – Atlanta, GA
Arianna Marino, Independent Stylist, CA
Brittney Newman, Stylist at Chastain’s Salon, FL
Sally Noblett, Creative Director at Joseph Michael’s Salon and Spa, IL
Kevin Ponce, Junior Stylist at Ian McCabe Studio, VA
Lindsey Washbourne, Cosmetology Instructor at Bellus Academy, CA
Patrick Wentworth, Owner/Stylist at George Eliot Salon, UT
Amanda Zulgis, Designer Stylist at JCPenney Salon, CA