Discussion Board:
Bulletin Boards > Cut and Style > Cutting short layers in LONG layered hair cuts
Posted By:
Posted By:AtomicRockStar on: 5/3/2007 6:01:40 PM

Display:
Author: Thread: Cutting short layers in LONG layered hair cuts
AtomicRockStar

Cutting short layers in LONG layered hair cuts
Posted: Thursday, May 03, 2007 6:01:40 PM
I am a student and am a little confused right now a certain type of cut.  How do I go about cutting short layers on a person with LONG hair?  She wants short layers up to the occipital bone and has long hair past her shoulders.  I have been taking the two back sections and doing the 180 and then the two front sections is where I get stuck on.  I don't want to match up the back sections with the front sections and do a 180 or I will give her a mullet since the hair doesn't go down as far like it does in the nape.  Do I even match it up at all?  Do I do a 180 still?  Or do I do the 90 in the front or the 90 all around?  I hope this makes sense.   It is a little difficult to explain.

AMirage
Silver Member

Posted: Thursday, May 03, 2007 6:58:22 PM

Imagine hanging the person upside down by their feet. Imagine the hair hanging straight down. Now flip her over and cut it like that lol. Think they actually tried that in the 80's.

You would cut your perimeter line in, then you would cut your section on top as short as you wanted it. Then you would pick up your verticle sections above the occipital and cut from your shortest layer on top to your longest layer. Bring your two guidelines together. Does that make sense?

If you cut the layers in below the occipital you might loose your perimeter line. There is a haircut you do that for but thats for another thread.

AMirage

AtomicRockStar

Reply to cutting short layers in LONG layered hair cuts
Posted: Friday, May 04, 2007 12:01:07 PM

Alright, thanks....I guess that kinda makes sense.