Bulletin Boards > Cut and Style > clipper issues
Posted By:
Posted By:neets on: 2/19/2005 3:31:14 PM

Display:
Author: Thread: clipper issues
neets

clipper issues
Posted: Saturday, February 19, 2005 3:31:15 PM
I was hoping someone could tell me when the blade on my clipper needs to changed (a duh question but I'm a rookie) Did a cut on my son who went from very long to very short and his hair is extremely dense. I have Oster fast feed clippers and I am so glad I checked the cut they did (not perfect) I was making sure to scoop out but I was using three quarter and one inch guards to a one and quarter top. His hair is that good strong virgin (almost slickery) stuff. I've given clipper cuts to people whose hair is a breeze to cut his wasn't, and am wondering is it me or the clippers or the blade?

mc
Platinum Member

Posted: Saturday, February 19, 2005 9:40:30 PM
extremely dense. That's why it didn't breeze through his hair. You may need to take the blade off and clean it out too.
mc

neets

Posted: Sunday, February 20, 2005 4:39:49 AM
Thanks MC, I will clean it out. I also think I should have been using a comb to bring the hair down into the clippers like I've seen others do but I didn't understand why they were doing it.
I saw the post about guard causing channels in the cut, I guess I should be checking all the clipper cuts I do, I didn't always do that unless I saw a problem, but then again the customer was supposed to be out of the door in 13 min.

AlenaL
Bronze Member

Clipper over Comb!
Posted: Sunday, February 20, 2005 8:36:26 PM
You could probably benefit by having someone teach you clipper over comb techniques.  I just got out of school in December and thats where I learned that, but I've been in the salon since November and there were 2 people who had never even heard of clipper over comb method.  You can get videos on clipper cuts or maybe someone with more experience can show you! Good luck!
Alena

mc
Platinum Member