Discussion Board:
Bulletin Boards > Cut and Style > Freezing Spray or a trip to the Hardware store?
Posted By:
Posted By:icarus on: 2/12/2005 2:41:22 PM

Display:
Author: Thread: Freezing Spray or a trip to the Hardware store?
icarus

Freezing Spray or a trip to the Hardware store?
Posted: Saturday, February 12, 2005 2:41:22 PM
I'm interested in creating some sculptural hair pieces to be used on a competition updo and can't seem to get the hold I'm looking for.  When I see some of the incredable styles hitting the runway with gravity defiying height I'm floored!  I'm still a student and am just getting started so any advice would be great.

HairMaven
Gold Member

Posted: Saturday, February 12, 2005 6:10:48 PM
Options...

1. Thick, snooty gel and mold you hair pieces into the shape you want (around balloons for example then pop the balloon) and let it dry hard.
2 Egg whites, but don't get them too hot or they may "cook".
3. Lot's and lot's of hairspray, until it's wet, then let it dry, then spray it again, the trick here it to build the strength up through layers of product (hairspray) as opposed to one single layer.
4. Spray lacquer, but this stinks while your using it and you have to work with layers of product as well. but really, really shiny.
5. Built the strength up through layers of hairspray (aerosol) and oil sheen. This is what was done in olden days of roller set competitions, spray the hair till you can't breathe and the hair is throughly coated, then spray with a light EVEN layer of oil sheen (not silicone shine spray), then hairspray again, oil sheen, hairspray then oil sheen then hairspray then oil sheen. Through repeated processes of the two it will build up a nice pliable coating of product that will allow you to lightly tease and style into huge shapes.
6. Coat the hair with gel or wet firm hairspray then flat iron into a board shape, the sound and steam will be kinda freaky, but if you want it stiff....